Upcoming Classes

    • 11 Oct 2017
    • 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
    • ArtSpace, CB4 3EF
    • 0

    Sorry, but this event is now sold out. You can join the waitlist and we will send you an email when additional spaces become available.

    Join waitlist

    The historic and beautiful 'coptic' binding is a very popular class.
    The binding allows the book to lie perfectly flat and also to open to 360 degrees, making it popular amongst other things as a journal, travel book or artist sketch book. Also, the exposed spine stitching has enormous visual appeal.
    During the day you will learn how to prepare the pages for binding as well as decide on your own personal decorative style for board covering before getting to grips with the stitching. You will also have creative input on the appearance of the spine itself.
    Suitable for beginners.

    • 21 Oct 2017
    • 9:30 AM - 4:30 PM
    • Brignell Bookbinders CB1 2LG
    • 2

    Take your bookbinding a step further and learn to do a full leather binding. You can make your own book block in advance or work with one of our pre-made blocks. We will pare the leather and complete the case binding in the day to include simple cover decoration or titling. There will be an extra £10 charge for leather on this class. New photos to follow!

    • 01 Nov 2017
    • Stoneman Press, CB10 2XD

    This workshop, booking through Eventbrite, is being hosted by printmaker Sue Jones at her lovely new studio just outside Saffron Walden.


    Most classes teach techniques for binding a number of signatures into a book but of course there is often the need to bind single pages too, particularly amongst artists and printmakers.
    During this one-day class you will learn how to prepare and make a ‘loop binding. The chief value of this binding is that it hold single pages in a traditional book format. It lies flat when open and is a beautiful structure in which to present prints, photographs or other flatwork. It is also popular as a journal, travel book or artist sketchbook. It is a structure which can be made at home with minimal equipment, and makes a fabulous gift. Once you've done this class it will be possible to bind anything 2-dimentional into a book form -  tiles, slates, sheets of perspex or balsa wood; even paper!

    Suitable for beginners.

    • 07 Nov 2017
    • 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
    • ArtSpace, CB4 3EF
    • 6

    Details on the structure we will be working on will be available shortly.

    • 14 Nov 2017
    • Stoneman Press, CB10 2XD

    This one-day workshop, booking through Eventbrite, is hosted by artist and printmaker, Sue Jones, at her lovely new studio just outside Saffron Walden.

    During the workshop you will learn how to make a Coptic book. This historic binding uses decorative boards and has exposed sewing at the spine. The book lies flat when open and is popular amongst other things as a journal, travel book or artist sketchbook. It can be made at home with minimal equipment, and makes a fabulous gift.

    Traditional variations on this book and samples will be available to examine and photograph.

    • 18 Nov 2017
    • 9:30 AM - 4:30 PM
    • Brignell Bookbinders CB1 2LG
    • 6

    Make your own hard-backed Journal, Album or Sketchbook (typically about 21cm square but you can specify your own size) and emboss it with a title or your name. A thrilling achievement in a day and a great gift if you can bear to put someone else's name on it! Combine this with the raised bands class and/or a box-making class for a truly special project.

Past events

23 Sep 2017 Boxes Sat Sept 23
13 Sep 2017 The Wrap (5 evenings) from Wednesday, September 13
11 Sep 2017 The Wrap (5 evenings) from Monday, September 11
07 Sep 2017 Beginning Bookbinding (5 evenings) from Thurs Sept 7
23 Aug 2017 Raised Bands Wed Aug 23
22 Jul 2017 Photograph Album Sat July 22
28 Jun 2017 Travel Journal Wed June 28
24 Jun 2017 Case Bound Journal Sat June 24
27 May 2017 Case Bound Journal Sat May 27
23 May 2017 Secret Belgian Binding Tues May 23
10 May 2017 Beginning Bookbinding (5 evenings) starting Wed May 10
22 Apr 2017 Case Bound Journal Sat April 22
05 Apr 2017 Artist's Sketchbook Wed April 5
25 Feb 2017 Book and Page Repairs Sat Feb 25
05 Feb 2017 The Art and Craft of the Book Sun Feb 5
01 Feb 2017 Beginning Bookbinding (5 evenings) starting Wed Feb 1
28 Jan 2017 Case Bound Journal Sat Jan 28
23 Jan 2017 Box Making Mon Jan 23
14 Jan 2017 Wedding Table Guest Memory Books
03 Dec 2016 Mill Road Winter Fair Sat Dec 3
26 Nov 2016 Making Winter Sat/Sun 26/27 Nov
19 Nov 2016 Case Bound Journal Sat Nov 19
17 Nov 2016 The Art of the Book Thurs 17 Nov
16 Nov 2016 *new* Book-in-a-Box Wed 16 Nov
02 Nov 2016 Beginning Bookbinding I (5 evenings) starting Wed 2 Nov
22 Oct 2016 Cloth Back Repairs Sat 22 Oct
18 Oct 2016 Dos-a-Dos Tues 18 Oct
06 Oct 2016 Beginning Bookbinding II (5 evenings) starting Thurs 6 Oct
06 Oct 2016 The Art of the Book Thurs 6 Oct
30 Sep 2016 *new* Limp Vellum-style Bindings Fri 30 Sept
27 Sep 2016 Cambridge Original Printmakers Biennale Make Your Own Book - Tues 27 Sept
24 Sep 2016 Open Workshop - Sat 24 Sept
19 Sep 2016 Beginning Bookbinding I (5 mornings) starting Mon 19 Sept
27 Aug 2016 Open Workshop - Sat 27 Aug
16 Aug 2016 Raised Bands 1/4 Leather Tues 16 Aug
13 Aug 2016 Solander Box - Sat Aug 13
30 Jul 2016 Open Workshop - Sat July 30
16 Jul 2016 Paperback Repairs - Sat July 16
13 Jul 2016 Coptic Binding - Wed 13 Jul
25 Jun 2016 Open Workshop - Sat June 25
23 Jun 2016 Dos-a-Dos - Thurs 23 Jun
28 May 2016 Open Workshop - Sat May 28
07 May 2016 Hard Backed Journal - Sat May 7
30 Apr 2016 Slipcase and Box - Sat April 30
28 Apr 2016 Beginning Bookbinding (5 eve. classes) starting 28/4/16
18 Apr 2016 Beginning Bookbinding - April 18-22
12 Apr 2016 Japanese Album Binding - Tues April 12
07 Apr 2016 Case Bound Journal Thurs April 7
19 Mar 2016 Repairs/1 -Cloth Case - Sat March 19
15 Mar 2016 Limp Bindings - Tues March 15
13 Mar 2016 Coptic Binding - Sun March 13
27 Feb 2016 Hard Backed Journal
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software